Howdy, and happy new year!   My goals this year are various, from taking organ lessons to going out foraging more often to re-landscaping our yard.  There are also many knitting and sewing projects to be completed, too many to count, I’m ashamed to say.  But there’s at least one goal  however that I’m pretty sure I can achieve:

This morning I signed up for a canning Mastery Challenge hosted by the wonderful Marisa McClellan of foodinjars.com.  I’ve done a good deal of canning over the last couple of years,  and it has become one of my favorite methods of food preservation. This year, with much help from my sisters, I put up more than one hundred jars of divers and sundry pickles, jams, sauces, whole fruits, and chutneys, enough to last until next summer. Our pantry shelves glow with the deep purple of plums, the smooth gold of whole peaches and the vivid crimson of tomato preserves. Looking at them, I am bursting with pride and a luscious sense of achievement.  I’m looking forward to another canning season and Round 1 of the Food in Jars Mastery Challenge.  I’ll be making marmalade for the first time!

Blue skies and tailwinds,

R

fullsizerender

Snow-covered trees near our home

