Tags

,

I’ve spent the last couple of days thinking about different combinations of citrus fruits for the marmalade I’ll be making for the Food in Jars Mastery Challenge.   I believe I’ve finally settled on orange-lime, and opted to completely eliminate refined sugar in favor of mesquite honey.  The oranges should add some extra sweetness, which is why I chose them over using all lime.  Of course, in the end, I may change my mind altogether and go with grapefruit or blood orange for a lovely crimson preserve.  Marisa McClellan’s recent recipe for small-batch marmalade was extremely helpful and full of tips for those who have never made marmalade, including myself.  I was especially grateful to know about the standard marmalade ratio of fruit to sugar to water which is 1:1:1.  That makes it so much simpler to create a recipe with the citrus of one’s choice, instead of having to search for one using a specific variety.  I’ll be back in a few days with my final decision and maybe a recipe of sorts.  Until then,

Blue skies and tailwinds,

R

