Tags

, , , ,

Good afternoon!IMG_4156.JPG

Well, I did tweak my plans a tad, after all. I decided that, being new to marmalade-making, I would do a very small batch of orange-lime marmalade with sugar, just to see if I would enjoy the process. I didn’t want to waste expensive honey and find out that I really hated boiling, scooping, and mincing the oranges. So this morning I weighed my fruit (for a half batch I only needed 1 smallish orange and half of  a large lime), measured out my sugar, and set to work. As the fruit simmers during the first step of cooking, it fills the kitchen with a delightfully floral, citrus-y fragrance.

img_4165

Turns out marmalade is a lot of fun.  My pot was a little too big, as you can see, but there wasn’t a smaller one available. When you’re cooking Paleo for seven people, its never that hard to run out of dishes as early as ten o’clock in the morning.

img_4174

I got two wee quarter-pints, and a few extra tablespoons to taste later. Some of us try to avoid cane sugar, so we will probably be giving these jars as gifts.

img_4296

Today’s marmalade yield with my new, blue, wide-mouth pints

Tomorrow, I’ll be going ahead with the honey-sweetened batch, still orange-lime, although I picked a different honey. Instead of the mesquite honey I mentioned, I’m using a Turkish floral honey from Trader Joes. I thought the stronger-flavored mesquite might to be overpowering for the citrus.

Blue Skies and Tailwinds,

R

