Tags

, , , ,

img_4591A sort of funny thing happened last month after I posted about my sugar marmalade. Usually, when making jelly, I have some trouble achieving a good set; however, this time, I had uncommonly fine results: the stuff set up so stiff I had to scrape it out of the jar!  If you wanted to kill a piece of bread my marmalade would be the perfect weapon. It was like candied citrus peel…maybe even stiffer.  So, the next morning, I went ahead with my honeyed version, and proceeded to thin out the petrified stuff of the previous day. I just added a little water and let it warm up slowly while I prepped the fruit for my other batch. Chopping the citrus rind is somewhat tedious, but I really did enjoy the whole marmalade process. I liked the taste of the honeyed jam much better than the sugar one; the flavor of the oranges and limes was much more pronounced. The sugar-sweetened marmalade tasted like candy, not something that ought to be spread on toast, (or biscuits I guess, because we haven’t found a good Paleo toast yet!)

To be completely honest, I did not get a very firm set with using honey.  It’s definitely thickened and spreadable, but not as firm as a typical jelly. It got a little thicker after being refrigerated, though. img_4599I wasn’t too unhappy with the looser set because my main purpose was to make a sugar-free preserve that my whole family could enjoy, and I realized I might compromise a good set by substituting honey and not adding commercial pectin.  The oranges and limes turned out to be seedless, for some reason, so that probably had something to do with the texture, too.  I ended up with three half-pints and a quarter-pint, not too bad for my first go at marmalade!img_4588Blue Skies and Tailwinds,

R

